The Devil is In The Details

It’s the Apocalypse! Armageddon! End of the World!

There are many that believe that all of these terms mean the same thing. Their view is based on what they’ve seen in the movies but in reality, these terms represent different things and events.

In the Bible, the word Apocalypse comes from the Greek word “apokalupsis” and it means to be revealed or revelation. The book of Revelation is the revelation or “apocalypse” of Jesus Christ. It identifies the sequence of events that lead up to the return of Jesus Christ to establish His final kingdom on the earth. This will last for 1000 years after which a new eternal heaven and new eternal earth will be created with the old ones being destroyed.

The book of Revelation timeframe covers at least 7 years based on Daniel chapter 9, and it’s main theme describes events tied to 7 seals, 7 trumpets, and 7 bowls of wrath.

At the end of this time frame, at the 6th & 7th bowl of wrath, is the battle of Armageddon. Armageddon is a place at the valley of Megiddo in Israel. It is the location where the armies of the earth, led by the Antichrist, will gather awaiting the return of Jesus (along with the armies of heaven / transformed Christians from the Rapture), to fight the final battle. Jesus destroys them with the brightness of His coming, and the breath (or Word) from His mouth. He also captures the Antichrist and False Prophet throwing them into the lake of fire and brimstone. After that, Jesus will rule and reign for 1000 years on this earth with Satan bound in chains during that time.

After the 1000 years, Satan is released once again and will go out, deceive, and gather a coalition of armies, bringing them down against the camp of GOD (Jerusalem). He once again uses one of his territorial princes Gog, to lead this army. This time, GOD throws down fire from heaven and consumes them all. This is the final refining of the generations of humans that came from those who made it through to the millennial reign. Similar to the garden of Eden, they all knew Jesus as King, but some still choose rebellion and evil over good.

We now come to the “End of the World”. Satan is thrown into the lake of fire, all are judged (great White Throne Judgment), the current heaven and earth are destroyed, and a new heaven and new earth are created for all those who chose GOD as creator and Jesus as their saving King. This is also written by the apostle Peter when he said;

2 Pet3:7 By the same word the present heavens and earth are reserved for fire, being kept for the day of judgment and destruction of the ungodly.

8 But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day. 9 The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.

10 But the day of the Lord will come like a thief. The heavens will disappear with a roar; the elements will be destroyed by fire, and the earth and everything done in it will be laid bare.[a]

11 Since everything will be destroyed in this way, what kind of people ought you to be? You ought to live holy and godly lives 12 as you look forward to the day of God and speed its coming.[b] That day will bring about the destruction of the heavens by fire, and the elements will melt in the heat. 13 But in keeping with his promise we are looking forward to a new heaven and a new earth, where righteousness dwells.

Flashing back to the beginning of all this, the 7 seals are broken by Jesus, one by one, and represent the opening of the apocalyptic (revealing) scroll. The first four seals describe the 4 horseman of the apocalypse which many have heard of.

All of the first 5 seals represent GOD’s allowed judgment on the earth, through Satan and his demonic entities. This period of time will show a corrupt, immoral, and GOD/Jesus rejecting world what life is like without them. Many hearts will understand and turn back to GOD in this period however, their will also be many who will not as proven by the chapters that follow.

At the 6th seal we see the transition point from the GOD’s allowed judgement, to the beginning of GOD’s wrath. During this transition point the apostle John describes seeing 144,000 Jews from each of the 12 tribes of Israel being marked with the seal of GOD on their forehead, and he sees a great multitude Christians (holding palm branches) in front of the throne of GOD. (This is the assumed point of the rapture of Christians from the earth for those that hold to the pre-wrath rapture interpretation).

At the end of the 7th seal, through the 7 trumpets, and 7 bowls, GOD’s wrath is poured in different ways and stages. There is much more that happens during all of this including the question of what happens to Israel and the Jewish people.

Hopefully this helps in laying out the high level theme of GOD’s end time plan and creates the desire to dig further into the details. The Devil is very much in the details, but he loses for eternity.

Take care and GOD bless.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.